Horn of Disappointments: Prisonship Edition

Dave Matthews, Edwards Wedding Singer? – The Caucus Blog – NYTimes.com

Among the numerous surprising details in Neil A. Lewis’s report about John Edwards, who is reportedly considering admitting to fathering the baby of his mistress, Rielle Hunter, we found one particularly striking element. Citing a book proposal for a tell-all written by a former aide, Andrew Young, Mr. Lewis reports: “He wrote that Mr. Edwards once calmed an anxious Ms. Hunter by promising her that after his wife died, he would marry her in a rooftop ceremony in New York with an appearance by the Dave Matthews Band.”

You gotta be fugging kidding me? As if the lying, more-lying and the more-more-lying weren’t enough? Now I’m getting gratuitous glimpses into the love affair-ing economic populist’s bedroom lies? And they involve fucking DAVE?!?

Jay Farrar and Ben Gibbard Talk Kerouac Project :: Music News :: Articles :: Paste

Jay Farrar recording Mermaid Avenue Vol. 6 – Glorious Noise

Wait a second — is Jay Farrar trying to punish me? Not for nothing, but look…. I feel like I’ve been a pretty damn loyal soldier with my support for/critical writing about Son Volt 2.0, Gob Iron and assorted Jay solo stuff. Well, shit… after a mostly-flawed clunker of a new SV lp that’s more about laziness than about any kinda return to laconic country swagger, I can’t see either of these weird projects of historical re-enactment/wish fulfillment as anything but ominous harbingers of further anticlimaxes to come from Jay.

And you know what? That’s fine. Jay and I have had a great run, and he doesn’t owe me anything. I still enjoy reading the new Son Volt blog, and am glad to get the sense that all the blokes are having weird, good times on the road. But, shit, if I could boil down my gripes with Son Volt 2.0 down to a single statement, it’s that the lyrics and the music have seemed clunkily pasted together with one another, as if Jay was conducting his own, awkward version of a very played-out modernist disintegration of (musical) form and (lyrical) content*. I do not see how either of these two projects – with their built-in gravity and all the pretenses about “tradition,” “Americana,” etc. – can do anything but worsen these problems with Farrar’s recent work. But I’ll keep my ears open, as always, to have my opinion changed.

(* Another way of stating my gripe with Farrar: he’s getting involved in the kinda collaborations that Paste Magazine thinks’re important. But bear in mind, I’m the wanker reading RSS feeds from Paste, so…)

6 Responses to “Horn of Disappointments: Prisonship Edition”

  1. robinsmom Says:

    Gah! That is IT for me and John Edwards. Every time I think it could not be possible for him to disappoint me more, he finds an outrageous way to top himself. NO MORE! I, too, have a loyal (political) soldier, but he is dead to me now.

  2. robinsmom Says:

    Dammit, I seem to have trouble managing my multiple identities. I’m assuming you’ve figured out that robin’s mom = ash.

  3. evil r + b guy Says:

    If he’d promised her a rooftop performance by Ozzy or something, then it might be a little… different.

  4. ash Says:

    Wait, I’d like to amend my previously-twittered John Edwards fantasy: Rooftop ceremony in NY featuring an appearance by Lou Barlow, who performs “The Freed Pig” as the definitely-not-dead Elizabeth effortlessly sends John’s lying, more-lying, more-more-lying ass (much like his political career) into a 100-story free fall into oncoming traffic. Bonus points if his perfectly-coiffed carcass crash-lands on a passing cab carrying Dave Matthews. (I’m relatively confident that, after residing in my fantasy life for more years than I care to count, Lou would be happy to grant me this favor, irrespective of his views on Edwards, politics, and/or infidelity.) I’m going to stop thinking about this now (the John Edwards part, anyway; no promises re:Lou)…

  5. David Says:

    I listened to Still Feel Gone for the first time in a long while the other day, and I thought, “Why can’t Jay write songs like this anymore?” I don’t mean he needs to keep writing Punchdrunk over and over again, but damn how about some straight up rock songs? A catchy loud-soft-loud chorus now and then? I even skipped SV when they were in town a couple weeks ago, first time in 8 years I’ve missed a Jay show in Nashville. I was way more excited to see their opener Sera Cahoone, whose most recent album fills many of the same spaces in my head that Trace used to, but I’m seeing her solo next week in Spokane so I decided to pass.


Leave a comment