Prisonship Rock-Talk, 2009

Loosely, the 2009 model of le Prisonship’ll be busying itself primarily with blurbage emanating from the process of filling out the “Best 73 Rock Albs Since 1973” survey by one Mark Prindle, interweb-life’s preeminent Meltzer-inheritor and a genuine trustworthy oracle of rock-crit.

I would’ve kept this as a “surprise,” but thought some of you kids might wanna take a stab at filling out your own forms in advance of the 1/30/2009 deadline.

6 Responses to “Prisonship Rock-Talk, 2009”

  1. lexdexter Says:

    btw, this is really effing hard, especially if you try to honor prindle’s admonishment to avoid foregrounding “important” albums over the ones you actually effing listen to.

    certainly, i’m realizing that i’m more of a paradigmatic, indie rock 1990-1995 guy than i’d thought or would’ve like to’ve thought.

    no sex pistols, no stones, so stooges, no clash. a LOT of gbv. so weird. who am i?

  2. evil r + b guy Says:

    What alb have you listened to the most, do you reckon? Here is the semi-embarrassing truth for me:
    1. all time: Doors, Strange Days!
    2. past 2 yrs: Bowie, Low
    3. circa 1997: Miles, Miles Smiles
    4. circa 1993: Alice in Chains, Dirt (uh…)
    5. circa 1988: Run DMC, Tougher than Leather

  3. k'aisle Says:

    R + B:
    Here’s a messy, 1990-1999 answer to your query:

    First 5 cassette tapes I bought (in order):
    1. The Simpsons Sing the Blues (which I disliked upon first listen)
    2. New Kids on the Block – Hanging Tough
    3. Poison – Flesh and Blood
    4. GN f’n R – Use Yr Illusion 2 (possibly 1, can’t remember)
    5. The Doors – s/t

    The 2 cassette singles that I remember buying:
    1. Bon Jovi “Blaze of Glory”
    2. Metallica “Enter Sandman”

    The first three CD’s I ever bought:
    1. U2 – The Joshua Tree
    2. Hank Williams Jr. – Greatest Hits Vol. 1
    3. The Misfits – Walk Among Us

    I listened to most of these a big whopping hell of a bunch of times. Possibly more than most anything I’ve listened to since. When you only own 10-15 albums, you become really effing familiar with them.

    And here’s a pretty accurate list of what I listened to the most in high school.

    My Bloody Valentine – Loveless
    Pink Floyd – virtually everything they ever put out
    Genesis – Foxtrot, Nursery Cryme
    The Cure – Disintegration
    Lost Highway soundtrack
    Heat soundtrack
    Project Pitchfork – Alpha Omega
    Love Spirals Downwards – Ardor
    Bowie – Hunky Dory and… wait for it… yr not going to believe this… and i’m not afraid to admit it: Outside

  4. k'aisle Says:

    I just remembered that I was also obsessively into Talking Heads ’77 and 5 or 6 Zappa albums then, too.

  5. evil r + b guy Says:

    Awesome.

  6. kile Says:

    I completely forgot Radiohead and Pulp. Two of my favorite bands back then. God, maybe I’ve heard The Bends more than any other album? It’s possible!


Leave a comment