Survey: Now, You Play!

First I go: All these (old time-y hat) bands influenced by Tom Waits are making me hate Tom Waits.

Now You Play: All these bands influenced by ________________ are making me hate _____________.

11 Responses to “Survey: Now, You Play!”

  1. lexdexter Says:

    Belle and Sebastian

  2. lexdexter Says:

    (This happened with me and Tortoise, but then I realized that Tortoise were too much of a gift from Jesus for me to let any horseshit get in the way of me and them.)

  3. lexdexter Says:

    the Gang of Four.

  4. evil r + b guy Says:

    Uh…the Beatles?

  5. evil r + b guy Says:

    If we’re allowed to go Classical on this situation, I’d have to say Mozart.

  6. kighl Says:

    Don Caballero

  7. kighl Says:

    Animal Collective

  8. hotmale mama Says:

    I’ll definitely second the Mozart and the Animal Collective shout-outs.
    I’d also like to add Wilco, Radiohead (at times), the Band (though one could argue that Wilco and the Band might be swimming in the same stream, so this nomination could be considered redundant), and Talking Heads (aka quirky pop music).

    On another note, U2 is/has been making me hate U2.

  9. David Says:

    I’m guilty of liking an old timey hat band influenced by Tom Waits/The Band/Dylan: The Felice Brothers. Mostly good songs and a messy Basement Tapes sound and I’m hooked.

  10. bagman Says:

    you liked Tom Waits?


Leave a Reply

