Pship mid-2009 jai-lai tights: une mixtape

IMG_0014DOWNLOAD THE Prismslint Mid-2009 Highlights meex, pls.

Obits, Fake Kinkade: Who gives a shit about Grecian Urns when we’ve got seers like Thomas Kinkade out there? This song punches you in the jaw with its brash opening rock-n-punk riff, and then there’s a jangly, gorgeous, haunting chorus. What else do you schmucks want?

Magnolia Electric Co, O! Grace: Quickly becoming an all-time favorite vocal performance, and featuring the best rock saxophone — recorded by Albini, naturally — in many a (Bob Seger) moon. This is, indeed, the best Magnolia alb that wasn’t either a) buried on the box set, or b) actually a Songs:Ohia alb.

Dinosaur Jr., Your Weather: The Barlow song, dammit! ‘Sounds kind of like the all-powerful, present-tense Mission of Burma.  This Dinosaur album is carrying me around lately, a la the Footprints Prayer.

Bob Mould, Spiraling Down: A great ‘deep cut’ from the badass new one, reminiscent of the Copper Blue/Beaster-era wedding of noisy guitar noise and mod-ish sing-song.

Dinosaur Jr., Plans: A Mascis track! I am 30 years old. I still lazily wear a lot of hoodies and most days cannot tell where my corduroys begin or where my converses end. This Dinosaur album is carrying me around lately (see above), with both guitar solos and slackery-emo vocs that still speak to a small, rich sack of spirit-tendrils deep inside of me.

Sonic Youth, Massage the History: This is a “shadow of a doubt”-style SY sex jam, but one that’s more expanded, nurtured and purposeful (kinda like “Peace Attack,” or really all of the wonderful Nurse alb) than that earlier, lustier ur-Hitchcock rock.

4 Responses to “Pship mid-2009 jai-lai tights: une mixtape”

  1. evil r + b guy Says:

    Got the mix. Did I say I’m listening to more rock than I have in years?

  2. lexdexter Says:

    Minx, gtr rock is my favorite. ‘Kill City’ has been really doing it for me.

  3. km Says:

    i can’t tell you how important these things are for me.

    danger zone important.

  4. kighl Says:

    “This is, indeed, the best Magnolia alb that wasn’t either a) buried on the box set, or b) actually a Songs:Ohia alb.”

    I 1000% agree.


Leave a Reply

