“Why’m I?” : Bird’s Den clean-up edition

Why’m I slightly embarrassed (as well as excited) to admit that I enjoy “Don’t Ask Me Why” from Billy Joel’s Glass Houses lp?

Is it because the song is almost as precious and bourgeois as a certain, solo Paul Simon strain that enrages me (even as it indicts me in its own bourgeois preciousness, precocity and precociousness?)? Is “Don’t Ask Me Why” as close to that Paul Simon-y class position as Billy Joel ever got?

I bet Kyle could play the acoustic gtr part from this song really well, if he was armed with an Ovation.

Leave a Reply

