The Van Pelt | Bielefeld @ AJZ | Nov 26 1997

Doesn’t cut much deeper than this for me. Chris Leo was a great friend and advisor during my high school years (1993-1997), and when I’m honest with myself I admit that that the Van Pelt’s sound (and Chris’ lyrical/vocal style) was massively important in my thinking, hearing and playing. (My first real “punk” band, semi-finals, was particularly indebted to the talk-sing/big-bottom strategy employed in the first track here.) This really, really takes me back. ‘God, I stole a lot of moves from this guy, but never came close to anything this rad. I must’ve seen this band 20 times in those 4 years.

4 Responses to “”

  1. gabbagabbahey Says:

    it’s cool that you can count him as a friend and advisor. I love the sound of chisel, van pelt, the lapse…

  2. gabbagabbahey Says:

    er… I didn’t really intend to say Chisel, obviously.

  3. kile Says:

    Good find!

  4. chaz Says:

    oh gawd, that was enjoyable!

    gpa


Leave a Reply

