Crap/Not Crap

the Iraq Study Group.

granted there’s been some worthy discussion on this score in my immediate universe, but i’d like to hear the blogofamily weigh in.

raenie and i’ve been having those cspan nights, you know?

9 Responses to “Crap/Not Crap”

  1. lexdexter Says:

    i vote ‘crap,’ by the way.

  2. minx Says:

    crap. All crap. I need to have a listen to that interview you posted awhile back. I think I’ll find that now to listen to while I prepare for my teaching day tomorrow.

  3. Wilbro Says:

    Short-term results: maybe not crap.
    Long-term effects: big, stinky, steaming pile of shit.

  4. Jordan Says:

    I’m leaning toward “not crap” in regards to the asking of help from Iran and Syria; but maybe I’m just ready to blow my load with excitement after any remotely diplomatic move that the administration might make, you know, in some paralel universe

  5. coffeeblackandcigarettes Says:

    As is my habit: I vote crap. I vote not crap.

  6. Ryan Says:

    crap — kind of states the obvious, huh?

  7. coffeeblackandcigarettes Says:

    I’ve changed my mind…I vote crap.

  8. nuge Says:

    I’m with Jerry and Will on this one. Given the fact that the previous incarnation of this administration has had NO inkling of constructive foriegn policy, any bit of a start is a GOOD thing (I think they’re mainly scared of people that speak multiple languages, maybe if they get over that we might see some change).

    That being said don’t think the Bush administration is really mulling this shit over or really thinking about it (or thinking about acting on it). Expect these (and other patriot act/military commissions act reforms) to be enfoced/forced by congress this term. This will be hard given the consolidation of the executive’s power over the past few years and will probably mean several little battles.

    Which is why it was fucking idiotic for the dems to automatically rule out impeachment before the election (seems like we might be painting ourselves into a corner here) although I understand the motivation here. The dems are going to regret that little promise when they figure out how hard/slow it is going to be to roll back this shit/change the agenda. Long term smells stinky on both sides, easier said than done, this is going to get way worse (and hopefully more partisan, because the non-partisan sanitized bullshit WILL eventually blow up in our face).


Leave a Reply

