When Cafe au Laits Go Wrong…

they go sour. It’s pretty much just curdled milk.

3 Responses to “When Cafe au Laits Go Wrong…”

  1. Wilbro Says:

    I, for one, like cafe au laits. I do not like, however, the fact that Starbucks calls them “mistos.” Another thing I don’t like is being forced to call a cafe au lait a “misto.” That happened to me at Starbucks once and I’ve never ordered one since. I went in and asked for a small cafe au lait. The cashier, or, if you prefer, the “barista,” looked at me quizzically and said, in a patronizing voice, “You mean a ‘tall’ ‘misto’?” Then, I turned around and walked out.

  2. lexdexter Says:

    this biz with the usurpation of coffee-talk is one more reason to avoid the starbucks. their union-busting is the best resaon, though. i suppose the nyc peeps deserve some sort of reprieve, cuz as far as i can tell there aren’t any coffeehouses but starbucks there.

    bsck to the coffee-talk, though. it’s particularly painful to be a barista who pulls shots at another coffeeshop but is nonetheless forced to speak (or at least understand) the starbucks-normative lexicon, as mouthed by silly customers. ‘non-fat with whip’ my arse, you ‘venti’-mongering, factory-wrapped douche!

  3. Ben Says:

    By the way, this shit made me laugh a lot when I read it.


Leave a Reply

